Debra in the Raw's Blog

My Journey to a Healthier Life

Raw Discoveries –Day 2

One thing that is certain to eat healthy is far more expensive than your cheap drive-thru restaurants.

I completed Carol Alts book entitled “Eating in the Raw” I am glad I read if only for the reason she does emphasizes the philosophy of starting gradually. It was nice to read that it enforces my approach and makes me feel better about it.

Back to the finances of eating raw, I am hoping it balances itself out with the fact I will be using far less house gas and far less electricity. Currently I have none of the kitchen appliances she speaks of, personally I am not sure I even  will have a great need to purchase any of these right away. I do have a Kitchen- Aid  Food Processor  and I feel that will do for now.

Upon waking this morning I was pleased when I tested my blood sugar and it had dropped by 59mg/ul that is a start, however I definitely have a long way to go in that department. My weight was down 2 lbs from yesterday. I conclude all in all a positive start to my new way of life.

One of my common sense discoveries about eating raw is when purchasing raw entries as I did yesterday, it is helpful to keep a notebook to keep track of the brands I try. I am also putting a little note by the brand name after I have eaten it. This way I will know which I liked and did not like.

A great example is this morning for breakfast  I decided to have raw falafels and raw sauce from amongst the selection I bought yesterday. I gagged when I put this certain brand in my mouth the taste was just horrid and oh yuck I  felt I was eating sand.The sauce was way too vinegary. These went into the trash. I usually do not waste like that,and even more so being that their cost was $6.39 for a package of 4. Having mentioned the price that gives you an idea of how bad they were. Hence my discovery is all future purchases of falafels will include the Back To Life brand not the other. Their raw falafels were smooth and tasted similar to flash fried falafels from one of my favorite Greek fast foods restaurant. Also Back To Life’s raw “Tihini” sauce actually tasted how regular Tihini tastes.

I need to find time and get over to Whole Foods; I believe if I remember correctly their prices use to be a little lower than Mother’s. But I do need to comparison shop and get to know the raw foods at both Mother’s and Whole Foods better.

My lunch consisted of a cabbage casserole I made. It was a cooked meal and I included my raw salad.  My dinner was a slice of  sprouted bread that I keep in the freezer so it takes true to itself. I thawed the bread naturally only took a minute or two with this heat. I then placed a slice of  raw cheddar cheese and  a slice of  the raw “roast ‘  with a few sprigs of raw spinach and tomatoes.

This raw cheese is the most wonderful cheddar I have ever had. And I have had a  lot of cheddar in my life. I am so amazed it is so remarkable tasteful. I will have to be careful with product I could see myself  just munching that in no time.The raw “roast” is made with lentils beans and I am also surprised how delicious it is too.

I am looking forward to discovering more brands and different raw foods. Next stop visiting other blog site on others who have chosen this lifestyle of raw eating.

I am pleased you are along for my journey as we continue to learn that …………………………..

The Greatest Wealth Is Health

Debra

August 2, 2009 Posted by | Raw Discoveries | , , , , , | 1 Comment